jump to navigation

My Little Astronaut November 6, 2010

Posted by Lil' C's Mommie in Uncategorized.
trackback

Since Christian is going to have a rocket themed birthday party, I figured he could be an astronaut for Halloween and get more than one use out of his costume! But then I started checking out the prices of astronaut costumes. $50!?!? I don’t think so. So I did a little research on the internet, got a couple of good ideas, compiled the ones I liked, and here’s the final look.

Duct tape, tissue paper from the dollar store, some old stickers and printable sticker paper from my scrapbooking days, and the hubby already had some blue and red electrical tape.

I made the straps for the jet pack after he had gone to bed, and I hadn’t measured him of course, but they fit perfectly!  Whew!

And then I saw this commercial the night when I was making Christian’s astronaut costume and was just dying laughing. This is SO me!! ROTFLMAO!!!

The costume:
A race car driver costume that I found at a thrift store, while on vacation, for $6, I found some large white shoe covers for $1 at a thrift store, which I cut down to size and taped up with white electrical tape, and I found an astronaut vest for $3, it was too big, but it was so perfect that I decided to get it and pin it down to size:

When we got to school, he ran down the hallway like he was blasting off!  His teacher loved the jet pack so much, she couldn’t get over it.  And the Halloween parade was a success!  We marched around the classrooms and school offices.  People kept asking me where I bought the costume and when I said I had made it, they couldn’t believe it.  He loved his costume and he kept his helmet on the entire time! I’m so proud of him!

So, for around $12 I was able to create a pretty neat astronaut costume. 

Comments»

1. threeboyjoy - November 11, 2010

He looks so dang cute!! Don’t you wish you could use this costume next year too? I’m sure it will be too big. That YouTube video is hilarious!!! So you!!!! LOL!!!!

2. Lil' C's Mommie - November 19, 2010

I know!! LOL! I was thinking of setting out the costume and paraphernalia for the kids to try on. Think of the photos I’ll get! LOL!


Leave a Reply

